

राष्ट्रीय राजधानी क्षेत्र और निकटवर्ती क्षेत्र वायु गुणवत्ता प्रबंधन आयोग Commission for Air Quality Management in National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas



F. No.-120015/25/TPP/CAQM /700 (DT)

Dated: 17.03.2023

Subject: Co-firing of Biomass Pellets in Coal Based Captive Thermal Power Plants in NCR.

- 1. WHEREAS, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Government of India, in exercise of the power conferred under Section 3 of the Commission for Air Quality Management in National Capital Region and Adjoining Area Act 2021, has constituted the Commission for Air Quality Management in National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas (hereinafter referred to as the Commission);
- 2. WHEREAS, under Section 12 (1) of the Act, the Commission has powers to take all such measures, issue directions, etc., as it deems necessary or expedient for the purpose of protecting and improving the quality of the air in the National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas;
- 3. WHEREAS, the Commission since its inception has rigorously taken up the matter of *ex-situ* management of agricultural stubble with concerned NCR States and Central Governments and the State Government Authorities were impressed upon the urgency and importance of ensuring use of agricultural residue / biomass pellets as fuel in the Coal based Thermal Power Plants as a viable and successful option;
- 4. WHEREAS, after detailed deliberations with various stakeholders including 11 Thermal Power Plants located within 300 Km of Delhi on the matter *viz.*, technically feasibility, scope of implementation of co-firing of biomoss pellets with coal in proportion up to 5-10% in Thermal Power Plants, it was mandated by the Commission vide its Direction No. 42, dated 17.09.2021, for initiating steps with immediate effect to co-fire biomass pellets (including paddy straw pellets);
- 5. WHEREAS, while the Commission through its statutory Direction has mandated use of biomass as fuel in the identified 11 Thermal Power Plants located within 300 Km of Delhi, use of such biomass also needs to be promoted in all the Captive Thermal Power Plants (CTPPs) including Co-generation

17 वी मंजिल, जवाहरव्यापार भवन (एस. टी.सी. बिल्डिंग), टॉलस्टॉय मार्ग, नई दिल्ली-110001 दूरभाष : 011-23701213, ई -मेल :caqm-ncr@gov.in

17th Floor, Jawahar Vyapar Bhawan (STC Building), Tolstoy Marg, New Delhi-110001 Tel:011-23701213, E-mail:cagm-ncr@gov.in



Captive TPPs, also considering the fact that there are power generating plants, that are entirely biomass-based, already operating in the country;

- 6. WHEREAS, through Direction No. 65, dated 23.06.2022 the Commission stipulated a standard list of approved fuel for entire NCR for various applications, which bans use of polluting fuels like coal and furnace oil etc., use of low Sulphur coal was permitted only for Thermal Power Plants and as clarified in terms of office order dated 04.01.2023, also for Captive Thermal Power Plants (CTPPs) including Co-generation CTPPs;
- 7. WHEREAS, the Captive Thermal Power Plants in NCR including cogenerating Captive Thermal Power Plants are also required to strictly comply with the emission standards and directions / orders in this context;
- 8. WHEREAS, CPCB vide their Directions dated 16.04.2018 directed the Captive TPPs in Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Rajasthan to be compliant with the notified standards vide notification S.O. 3305(E), dated 07.12.2015 and its amendments from time to time;
- 9. WHEREAS, Section 12 (2) (xi) of the Act, empowers the Commission to issue directions in writing to any person, officer, or any authority and such person, officer or authority shall be bound to comply with such directions;
- 10. NOW, THEREFORE, in view of the above position and the compelling need to control air pollution from coal based Captive Thermal Power Plants and the concerns of burning of agricultural residue and its effective utilization as a resource, the Commission constituted under the provisions of "Commission for Air Quality Management in National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas, Act, 2021", in furtherance of the above directives, hereby directs all the coal based Captive Thermal Power plants including co-generating Captive Thermal Power Plants situated in NCR to:
 - (i) Initiate immediate steps to co-fire biomass-based pellets (with focus on paddy straw utilization) with coal through a continuous and uninterrupted supply chain targeting at least 5% co-firing of biomass pellets, latest by 30th September, 2023 and at least 10% co-firing by 31st December, 2023;
 - (ii) Strictly comply with the standards of emissions, at all times and with immediate effect, as stipulated vide MoEFCC's Notification S.O. 3305(E), dated 07.12.2015 and its amendments from time to time;

17 वी मंजिल, जवाहरव्यापार भवन (एस. टी.सी. बिल्डिंग), टॉलस्टॉय मार्ग, नई दिल्ली-110001 दूरभाष : 011-23701213, ई -मेल :caqm-ncr@gov.in 17th Floor, Jawahar Vyapar Bhawan (STC Building), Tolstoy Marg, New Delhi-110001 Tel:011-23701213, E-mail:caqm-ncr@gov.in



11. First action taken report in compliance of this Direction be submitted to the Commission by **30.09.2023** and reports thereafter be sent on a monthly basis.

(Arvind Nautiyal) Member-Secretary

To

- 1. The Chief Secretary, Government of Haryana, 4th Floor, Civil Secretariat, Sector I, Chandigarh.
- 2. The Chief Secretary, Government of Uttar Pradesh, 101, Lok Bhawan, U. P. Civil Secretariat, Vidhan Sabha Marg, Lucknow -226001.
- 3. The Chief Secretary, Government of Rajasthan, Government Secretariat, Jaipur- 302 005.
- 4. The Chairman, Central pollution Control Board
- 5. The Chairman, Uttar Pradesh Pollution Control Board, Lucknow.
- 6. The Chairman, Haryana State Pollution Control Board, Panchkula.
- 7. The Chairman, Rajasthan Pollution Control Board, Jaipur.
- 8. Additional Chief Secretary, Power and New and Renewable Energy, Government of Haryana.
- 9. Additional Chief Secretary, Department of Additional Sources of Energy, Government of Uttar Pradesh.
- 10. The Secretary, Power, Govt. of Rajasthan.

Copy to:

1. Secretary, Ministry of Power, Government of India.

Copy also for information to:

1. The Chairperson and all Members, CAQM.

(Arvind Nautiyal) Member-Secretary

